Found, one dose of humanity in soap and an old rocker.

Yesterday I had one of those days where I felt full of happiness. I had just watched my 19 month old Little get his hair cut in a toy car and giggle his way through the event. My boy is the happiest of boys. Afterwards we went into the bank and whilst waiting he ran around, saying hello to all the other customers in his parrot like “hello, hello, hello”. He became fascinated by a man with worn out leather shoes, a big soft grey beard and a guitar. Behind the guitar was a bag with all his worldly possessions. Little was enchanted by him, and his guitar.
“Hello, hello, hello”.
The man looked bemused and smiled at the chatter box toddler who stood at his feet looking up at his face, then turned to mum with a look of apprehension. His look turned to surprise when mum smiled back rather than move her child away. I told him my son was amazed by him.
“If you like homeless rockers” he replied. I pointed out that all rockers need a groupie. He made a comment about if he gets through the week, I returned, then it’s been a good one. We swapped names, we laughed at Little’s antics and we wished each other a good day, sincerely. Then he stopped and thanked me.
A person should not feel the need to thank someone for taking the time to shoot the breeze. For seeing them as an equal. For seeing them.
We all need a little humanity.
Humanity can be spread in the smallest of gestures. The elderly lady at my gym chatters to me whilst patting my knee as I sit at the weight bench, she does this to all the gym users, old and young, muscle bound body builders and soft new mums alike. There is a real-estate agent from the south of Tasmania who goes out of his way, for love, to help those who need it. There are nurses, water delivery men, fire wood delivery men who have no idea of the humanity they spread through their small gestures of good will. Their kindness towards others for kindness sake and no other reason. To them and all others like them I say thank you.
After I left the bank Little and I went to Lush Cosmetics where we bought some Soap for Hope. All proceeds going to the Asylum Seeker Resource Centre. There is a display in the window stating that seeking asylum is not illegal and postcards to sign and send to the government asking that they show some humanity towards the world’s most desperate people. We painted our hands and pressed them onto the window display to show our support for humanity. This is the world I want my boy to grow up surrounded by and be an active part of. One where, through small gestures and large, be they personal, corporate or political we show and share humanity.

Freshly shawn Little in front of a smudgy small print.

Freshly shawn Little in front of a smudgy small print.

This is not sponsored, as if, I’m a small time rarely blogs blogger. All my own thoughts and opinions. I just really like people and businesses that show humanity towards others.

About Roxanne P-CH

Partner, mum, passionate teacher, lover of the outdoors and all things snow. Tapping at keys and scrawling on paper. Having words my way.
This entry was posted in Happy place, My Woffle, Opinion, Politics and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Found, one dose of humanity in soap and an old rocker.

  1. Dawn says:

    He will, because he’s being set the example of how to live well. Xx

Leave a Reply

