Words, poems and musing.

I wrote this many months ago.  For whatever reason, today I posted it.

 

There are many things that take your breath away.

It was such a cold morning here today that it took my breath away when I swung my legs out from under the doona. We have momentarily bypassed autumn and moved straight to winter. Tasmania does that.

As I watched my son roll around on a blow up slide and ball pit the strength of my love for him stole my breath and swelled my heart.

Be still my beating heart.

Be still my beating heart.

As I wrapped him in a sleeping bag in preparation for bed, Little resting his bronze curls on my shoulder, I opened the cover of an old family favourite and it was the innocent words of a childhood poem that took my breath away.

Sometimes the simplest things can have the most profound effect. There are smells that stir memories, sounds that make the past present, songs that re-create.
There are words.

There are stories.

There are poems.

They’re changing guard at Buckingham Palace-
Christopher Robin went down with Alice.
Alice is marrying one of the guard.
“A soldiers life is terrible hard,”
Says Alice.

A.A. Milne When We Were Young

About Roxanne P-CH

Partner, mum, passionate teacher, lover of the outdoors and all things snow. Tapping at keys and scrawling on paper. Having words my way.
This entry was posted in Life, My Woffle and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

